The Candidate's Daughter: A Gripping Thriller (An Elizabeth McClaine Thriller Book 1) (English Edition) par Catherine Lea

The Candidate's Daughter: A Gripping Thriller (An Elizabeth McClaine Thriller Book 1) (English Edition) par Catherine Lea
Titre de livre : The Candidate's Daughter: A Gripping Thriller (An Elizabeth McClaine Thriller Book 1) (English Edition)
Date de sortie : January 31, 2014
Auteur : Catherine Lea
Broché : 353
Éditeur : Brakelight Press

The Candidate's Daughter: A Gripping Thriller (An Elizabeth McClaine Thriller Book 1) (English Edition) par Catherine Lea est disponible au téléchargement en format PDF et EPUB. Ici, vous pouvez accéder à des millions de livres. Tous les livres disponibles pour lire en ligne et télécharger sans avoir à payer plus.

Catherine Lea avec The Candidate's Daughter: A Gripping Thriller (An Elizabeth McClaine Thriller Book 1) (English Edition)

“It wasn’t supposed to be like this.

Matt had it all planned out. He said the kid would go home alive.

But the longer we've got her, the more I'm wondering…

Maybe I got it wrong…”


The plan is simple: kidnap the daughter of Senate candidate Richard McClaine, take the money and run. Nobody gets hurt, the kid goes home alive.

Twenty-two-year-old car thief Kelsey Money thinks it's the worst scheme her boyfriend Matt and his drug-fueled brother have ever come up with. But Matt's the only one Kelsey's ever loved, the only one she's ever trusted.

Then she discovers the part she wasn’t told - that six-year-old Holly isn’t going home alive. So, Kelsey makes a decision. And some decisions can never be undone.

Elizabeth McClaine can't even tell the police what her daughter was wearing when she disappeared. Soon after Holly was born with Down Syndrome and a cleft palate, she was placed in the care of a nanny while her mother battled postpartum depression. But when Elizabeth learns the detective on the case has already failed one kidnapped child, she cannot fail hers.

The clock is ticking. Both women have twenty-four hours to find Holly because in twenty-five, she’ll be dead.

The Candidate's Daughter and its sequels Child of the State and A Stolen Woman are additions to the great action and character-driven mystery and suspense thrillers in the tradition of J.D. Robb, Faye Kellerman, and Mary Higgins Clark.

(Warning: Some language may offend)

What readers are saying about The Candidate's Daughter


"Absolutely spellbinding ... completely unputdownable." - Karen Dionne, author of THE MARSH KING'S DAUGHTER.

"A terrific ticking-clock thriller."

"...political suspense of the best kind."

"...makes you want to stop and read it all over again."


Start reading today!



A Word from the Author


First of all, thank you for your interest in my books. You’ll find in many of my books, I include characters with intellectual or physical challenges. Added to this, I wanted to write twisty crime thrillers with complex characters and surprise endings, so I created the Elizabeth McClaine thriller series.

So, who is Elizabeth McClaine?


Strong-minded Elizabeth uses her connections to the local government in her home town of Cleveland, Ohio to find justice for those who need it. The stories involve kidnappings and heists, corporate greed and murders and storylines that will keep the pages turning onto the wee hours.

What gives these stories heart?


Real, believable characters from Elizabeth herself to Holly, the cherished only daughter born with Down syndrome. Having loved and cared for a disabled daughter myself, I know the joy and the challenges caring for and loving a disabled child can bring. Therefore, from book #1, Holly brings Elizabeth a real sense of purpose and a desire to help those in need.
The books in the series are sequential, but each is a standalone, so you can read them out of order.

The Elizabeth McClaine Series so far Includes:


BOOK #1: THE CANDIDATE’S DAUGHTER
BOOK #2: CHILD OF THE STATE
BOOK #3 A STOLEN WOMAN
THE ELIZABETH MCCLAINE BOX SET OF THRILLERS

Standalone Titles by Catherine Lea


LAST SEEN LEAVING – A THRILLER
DROPPING DEAD IN DELBY RISH – A VERY BRITISH MURDER MYSTERY (Satire)
THE CONTESTANT – A SERIAL KILLER THRILLER
If you have any questions, you’ll find my page on Goodreads.
Again, my most heartfelt thanks for your interest,
Catherine